Three Poets: Carmen Bugan, Tamar Yoseloff, Anne Berkeley

Cambridge Writing Centre —
11 July 2024, 18:00

Cambridge Writing Centre welcomes three poets to ARU for a summer reading from their recent acclaimed books.

Carmen Bugan is the author of nine books including poetry, memoir, and criticism.  Her most recent collection of poems is Time Being (Shearsman, 2022), and her most recent collection of essays is Poetry and the Language of Oppression: Essays on Politics and Poetics (OUP, 2021).  Her new and selected poems, Lilies from America (Shearsman, 2019), was a PBS Special Commendation. Her memoir, Burying the Typewriter (Picador, 2012), won the Breadloaf Nonfiction Prize, was shortlisted for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize and the Orwell Prize for Political Writing, and was BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week.  Bugan is an Assistant Professor of Literature and Creative Writing at New York University in Abu Dhabi.

Tamar Yoseloff’s seventh collection, Belief Systems, is published by Nine Arches Press in June 2024 and is a PBS Summer Recommendation. She is also the author of Formerly (with photographs by Vici MacDonald), shortlisted for the Ted Hughes Award, and collaborative editions with artists Linda Karshan and Charlotte Harker respectively. She works as a freelance lecturer in creative writing. She won a Cholmondeley Award in 2023.

Anne Berkeley performed widely with the poetry ensemble The Joy of Six. She has won prizes in many competitions, including Times Literary Supplement, Kent & Sussex, Arvon, Magma, and Tabla. She edited Rebecca Elson’s acclaimed posthumous collection A Responsibility to Awe (now a Carcanet Classic). Her collection The Men from Praga (Salt), drawing on her cold war RAF childhood, was shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Centre prize.

Free entry.
Booking opens soon.